Jimmu Studios Back In Business

Brief mention over at Freefactory. I’ve been inspired by that session to improve my audio kit and do more production. Audacity is good for recording single mono tracks quick and dirty, but Ardour is the tool for anything more complex. I’ve been having no trouble at all building the latest Ardour releases from svn with the development tools and libraries included in Ubuntu Feisty. Now if only I had a decent sound card to work with jack and a real time kernel for a full blown multi-tracking, mix-meister rig. I’m working with what I have until I can settle up some old debts. As far as software goes, it looks like I will be going out of distro and rolling my own kernel to get something that meets all my real time audio processing needs for the short term. I can’t wait to see what becomes of some of the multimedia centered Linux distributions out there (more on that in another post).

Another musical inspiration of late was hearing an interview with my favorite Magnatune artist, Lisa DeBenedictis, about her minimal set up and the excellent music she makes with it. As for Magnatune, I’m sure theirs is not the only distribution model by which musicians can successfully get their music to the masses, but isn’t it thrilling to hear that there are alternatives to what we’ve had up to now?

Author: iamacat

Professional writer and multimedia artist. Having studied Japanese and other non-roman alphabet using languages, I appreciate the particular frustrations of language learners in the computer world. I enjoy helping people get their multilingualization going, no matter what operating system or desktop environment they happen to be in. Being an open source enthusiast, I push uim and anthy without reservation in *nix environments. Although lately, ibus has made things easy in modern Linux distributions, to the point of making much of these old posts moot.

2 thoughts on “Jimmu Studios Back In Business”

Leave a Reply

