RE: M17n, I18n, mojibake, and what works (usually).

I’m trying to organize my Linux/BSD internationalization and multilingualization notes into some kind of form that will be useful to users of various operating systems and Linux distributions. I want to share some of the solutions I’ve worked out, as well as stumbled upon randomly, for emailing, instant messaging, and sharing documents from your Linux/BSD box. I mean to provide useful information for communicating with those using Japanized operating system versions in the Microsoft and Apple worlds too. I’ll be forever indebted to Craig Oda for his explanations of Japanese computing many years back. But the situation has evolved. Many things that used to require seemingly endless, exacting configuration have become a matter of installing the right set of packages and a few clicks. Some operations are still tricky. The advent of more widespread use of Unicode in the major open and closed source desktop environments has simplified Japanese input and display in many ways, but there are issues with a multitude of legacy character codes and cross-platform consistency to deal with. Just when you think you’re making progress and have achieved some reliability in your setup, mojibake , will rear its ugly head. So I’m looking back on my experiences with multi-lingual text processing, and with some organizing, will be sharing what works for me.

Author: iamacat

Professional writer and multimedia artist. Having studied Japanese and other non-roman alphabet using languages, I appreciate the particular frustrations of language learners in the computer world. I enjoy helping people get their multilingualization going, no matter what operating system or desktop environment they happen to be in. Being an open source enthusiast, I push uim and anthy without reservation in *nix environments. Although lately, ibus has made things easy in modern Linux distributions, to the point of making much of these old posts moot.

Leave a Reply

