Opensuse 10.3 Japanese Input KDE Follow-up

I’m writing this post in konqueror, just for fun. If you managed to get uim and anthy working with the uim-applet in Gnome, KDE apps are almost as easy, and you don’t need to run uim-xim or any other p.i.t.a scripts or bridging hacks, as I’ve described in previous posts. The Konqueror binary I got from the Opensuse repository has uim support built right in. What does that mean? In a text input window, right click, select ‘uim:ja,ko,zh:*’ and then fire up uim anthy the same old way you would for a gnome app. (As I’ve said before, the uim-applet set-up options are too diverse to go into here, but I have managed to do it on Debian, Ubuntu, and Opensuse boxen without straying from graphical user interfaces, so don’t panic) And voila, 日本語! I suppose this would work in a straight KDE environment in any given KDE application (that’s compiled with uim support, of course), although I haven’t tried it that way. By the way, there is a KDE taskbar applet to control uim input, and you can use either it or the gnome applet in KDE. And, please, dear readers, let me know how things work out for you. I’m trying to pass on useful information here. Thanks! では、この切りで。

About iamacat
Professional writer and multimedia artist. Having studied Japanese and other non-roman alphabet using languages, I appreciate the particular frustrations of language learners in the computer world. I enjoy helping people get their multilingualization going, no matter what operating system or desktop environment they happen to be in. Being an open source enthusiast, I push uim and anthy without reservation in *nix environments. Although lately, ibus has made things easy in modern Linux distributions, to the point of making much of these old posts moot.

Leave a Reply

